Jingle Singles: Day 1. Christmas Wrapping.

I’m trying A Thing.

Everyone knows I love Christmas music more than is reasonable. I would like to share that love with you, blogpals, via the medium of a daily post from now until Christmas Day. I don’t claim that it will end up in the definitive list of the 25 best Crimbo songs, because we are all special snowflakes with our our own unique tastes in music and everything – and isn’t that lovely? 

But it will give us 25 jolly (or festively maudlin) tracks to bop away to come Christmas Day, and that sounds like a good thing to me.

The massive caveat to all this is that I start a new job next week and it may turn out to be exhausting or overwhelming in a way that means I cannot keep up with a daily posting schedule. Also, I am quite scatty.

But today, with the best of intent, I begin!

I have no chill, so I’m starting us off with my top favourite: Christmas Wrapping by The Waitresses. Here it is; have a listen and I’ll see you in a few minutes. You’ll be smiling.

PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT: However much you love this song, you cannot do it at karaoke unless you resign yourself to only being in time for “bah humbug!”, “you mean you forgot cranberries too!?” and of course “MERRY CHRISTMAS! MERRY CHRISTMAS!”

Take it from someone who has tried and failed. Repeatedly. 

And you do love it, don’t you? Of course you do. Here’s why. 

  1. Perfect narrative structure. It’s the classic boy-meets-girl-series-of-mishaps-finally-get-it-together-over-the-cranberries tale as old as time. 
  2. Harmonic brilliance. The music is perfectly layered with everything you could wish for in a Christmas track: jingly bells, jangly guitars, jaunty brass, funky bass, a catchy drum beat, and the most charming voice sitting on top of it all.
  3. Ambiguous attitude to Christmas. We all love Christmas, but it can be a lot. Looking at my calendar for December, I am both thrilled and panicked at the amount of social engagements I have booked in. Spending time with family is frequently both LOVELY and STRESSFUL. The Waitresses reassure us that it’s ok to have an emotionally complex relationship to Christmas, and I love them for that.

Accept no substitutes. Many people have tried to cover this song. Nobody has ever done it well – not even when the Spice Girls added references to Tesco and the 24 hour garage. (If they’d tried it before Geri quit they might have been on to something).

So there we are. The first of December, and the best of all the Christmas songs. Don’t worry, though, there are many more that are very nearly as good.

See you tomorrow for one of them.

Leave a Reply

